20TH ANNUAL NAPPC
INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCE

OCTOBER 20-22, 2020

Virtual Meeting

Agenda

Note: This is a virtual conference with all events taking place on Zoom.

Tuesday, October 20th

(Open to the public)

8:00 AM PDT / 11:00 AM EDT : Welcome

  • Kelly Rourke, Director of Programs and Operations for Pollinator Partnership
  • Dr. Rebecca Johnson, Associate Director for Science and Chief Scientist at the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History
  • Laurie Davies Adams, President and CEO of Pollinator Partnership

8:25 AM PDT / 11:25 AM EDT : Keynote Speakers

  • Dr. David Inouye, University of Maryland/Rocky Mountain Biological Laboratory:
    The Status of Pollinators after 20 Years of NAPPC
  • Dr. Doug Tallamy:, University of Delaware:
    Plant-pollinator interactions and how such interactions determine the diversity of animal communities

9:15 AM PDT / 12:15 PM EDT : BREAK (10 mins)

9:25 AM PDT / 12:25 PM EDT : Keynote Speakers

  • Sam Droege, US Geological Survey with Jarrod Fowler:
    The Conservation of Specialist Bees
  • Chris Taliga, USDA NRCS:
    Grassland Conservation and Pollinators

10:15 AM PDT / 1:15 PM EDT: Task Force History and Involvement

  • Gary Krupnick, Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History

10:25 AM PDT / 1:25 PM EDT : BREAK (10 mins)

10:35 AM PDT / 1:35 PM EDT : NAPPC 2020 Award Ceremony

United States Pollinator Advocate Award
Brad Stokes, University of Idaho Extension – Southern District
Mexico Pollinator Advocate Award
Dr. Ricardo Ayala, Instituto de Biología Universidad Nacional Autónoma de Mexico
Canada Pollinator Advocate Award
Shelly Candel, Bee City Canada
United States Farmer- Rancher Pollinator Conservation Award
Jim Croskey and Family, Dalroy Farms Inc
Canada Farmer- Rancher Pollinator Conservation Award
Ian Steppler, Steppler Farms Limited
Pollinator Electric Power Award
American Electric Power
Pollinator Roadside Management Award
Minnesota DOT

11:10 AM PDT / 2:10 PM EDT : BREAK (10 mins)

11:20 AM PDT / 2:20 PM EDT : NAPPC Founder Remembrances

  • Laurie Davies Adams, Pollinator Partnership
  • Paul Growald, Founder Pollinator Partnership/NAPPC
  • Gabriela Chavarria, Denver Museum of Nature & Science
  • Steve Buchmann, Author/University of Arizona
  • Rodrigo Medellin, UNAM
  • Kevin Hackett, USDA ARS
  • Peter Kevan, University of Guelph
  • Chip Taylor, Monarch Watch
  • Coro Arizmendi, UNAM
  • Kelly Rourke, Pollinator Partnership

11:55 AM PDT / 2:55 PM EDT : Closing


Wednesday, October 21st

(NAPPC Members Only)

8:00 AM PDT / 11:00 AM EDT : NAPPC, P2, and NMNH Welcome

8:15 AM PDT / 11:15 AM EDT : NAPPC Member Moments

  • Charlie Wooley: The Latest Buzz about Pollinator Conservation in the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
  • Anthony Colangelo: 14 Years of National Pollinator Week
  • Dewey Caron: PNW honey Bee Pollination Survey
  • Amber Barnes: Project Wingspan: Expansion and Connectivity of Pollinator Habitat in the Midwest and Great Lakes
  • Diana Cox-Foster: Research Update from the USDA-ARS Pollinating Insect Research Unit, Logan, Utah
  • Gail Morris: Southwest Monarch Conservation Update
  • Kathleen Law: Project Swallowtail: Building community and pollinator habitat in Toronto
  • Josette Lewis: Bee Friendly Farming & Pollinator Habitat in Almonds

8:45 AM PDT / 11:45 AM EDT : 2019-20 Task Force Reports

9:30 AM PDT / 12:30 PM EDT : BREAK (30 mins)

10:00 AM PDT / 1:00 PM EDT : Task Force Breakout Session 1

12:00 PM PDT / 3:00 PM EDT : BREAK (15 mins)

12:15 PM PDT / 3:15 PM EDT : Honey Bee Health Grantee Research Updates

  • Dr. Kirsten Traynor, Arizona State University:
    Smart Tracking: How varroa impact the social cohesion and longevity of a colony
  • Amy Geffre, University of California San Diego:
    The Understudied Honey Bee: Exploring the Role of Feral Honey Bees in Pathogen Dynamics in Pollinator Communities of Southern California
  • Dr. Mauricio Quesada, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México:
    Effects of landscape and floral resources on population density, honey composition, nutritional stress and prevalence of parasites and pathogens in Apis mellifera in Mexico
  • Pierre Lau and Alexandria Payne, Texas A&M University:
    Can we alter the macronutrient ratios within artificial diets to bolster honey bee pathogen defense?
  • Dr. Meghan Bennett, USDA-ARS:
    Using nutrition to combat the biggest threat to honey bee survival, Varroa destructor

1:10 PM PDT / 4:10 PM EDT : BREAK (15 mins)

1:25 PM PDT / 4:25 PM EDT : NAPPC Member Moments

  • Miles Dakin: Updates to Bee Friendly Farming
  • Katie-Lyn Bunney: Monarch Joint Venture Updates
  • Tamara Smith: Rusty patched bumble bee monitoring, planning, and resources
  • Chris Hiatt: AHPA- Xerces petition update
  • Mylea Bayless: Bats are pollinators too! BCI's landscape habitat restoration effort for nectar feeding bats in the American Southwest and northern Mexico
  • Lori Makarick: Notable Pollinator Stories (NPS) from the National Park Service (NPS)
  • Michael Retterer: Pheasants/ Quail Forever and OPHI The Ohio Pollinator Habitat Initiative.
  • Kelly Rourke: Creating pollinator habitat in solar operations

1:55 PM PDT / 4:55 PM EDT : Closing Instructions


Thursday, October 22nd

(NAPPC Members Only)

8:00 AM PDT / 11:00 AM EDT : Instructions/Information for the day

8:15 AM PDT / 11:15 AM EDT : NAPPC Member Moments

  • Elizabeth Sellers: Progress on Updating World Bee Taxonomy in the Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS)
  • Elizzabeth Kaufman: Project Wingspan Chicagoland: Promoting pollinators and native seed supply
  • Daniella Garcia: Bee the Change- Pollinator Protection Initiative at EPA
  • Lora Morandin: The P2 Canada Pollinator Leadership Team

8:30 AM PDT / 11:30 AM EDT : Task Force Breakout Session 2

10:00 AM PDT / 1:00 PM EDT : BREAK (30 mins)

10:30 AM PDT / 1:30 PM EDT : Vision 20 Breakout Session

11:30 AM PDT / 2:30 PM EDT : BREAK (15 mins)

11:45 AM PDT / 2:45 PM EDT : Task Forces Present on 2020-21 Plans

1:15 PM PDT / 4:15 PM EDT : Behind the Scene Tours of the Smithsonian NMNH

1:45 PM PDT / 4:45 PM EDT : A Celebration of NAPPC's 20th Anniversary!

*Agenda Subject to change.

Download Agenda

Ground Rules

The following ground rules provide a statement of how we propose to work together at the upcoming conference. These ground rules have been reviewed and approved by the Steering Committee as part of Conference planning. We request that you carefully review these prior to the meeting.

COMMUNICATION AMONG PARTICIPANTS

The success of all projects depend upon open communication and cooperation. Therefore, the following guidelines will apply:

  • Each person is asked to fully participate in the Conference deliberations. The Task Force Chair(s) will ensure that all participants who want to contribute to discussions are allowed the time to do so. Therefore, participants are requested not to dominate the discussions; if this occurs the Task Force Chair(s) will intervene to ensure all parties have a chance to talk.

  • The Steering Committee has identified certain subjects that have the potential to sidetrack progress on moving the Action Plan forward. Due to the limited time we have together at the Conference, genetically modified organisms and collections versus observation will not be discussed during the Conference.

  • Any concerns about the conduct of the deliberations or the issues being discussed should be fully aired to the Task Force Chair(s) or the Steering Committee Members in private if appropriate to ensure that the deliberations are effective and positive. NAPPC participants should feel free to work collaboratively and openly. Please respect all perspectives. Disagreements or conflicts will be addressed as issues to be resolved rather than battles to be won.

  • Any commitments made should not be taken lightly and follow through will be expected. Committees and Task Forces will be facilitated and recorded by volunteer participants.

FAQ

MEDIA

Members of the press, please email nappc@pollinator.org for more information

ADDITIONAL QUESTIONS

Please call Savannah at 415.362.1137 or email nappc@pollinator.org with any questions. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you at the 20th Annual NAPPC International Conference!